Meet Siri – Homepreneurs New Assistant

I recently replaced my cell phone with an iPhone 5.  I discovered “Siri” today, Apple’s voice recognition software.  Most of this post was dictated to “Siri” and then emailed to myself.  I copied and pasted the text from the email to this post  Talk about a major time saver!

Further, since I always carry my cell phone, I can record spur-of-the-moment thoughts using Siri, no matter where I am.  At work, home, taking a walk or riding my stationary bike.  I can also take a picture of a scene and instantly record thoughts for future reference.  This helps record instant impressions and sparks the creative process.  I can write a blog, do homework or work on the next Homepreneurs book anytime I want.

Siri can be used for multiple purposes.  As a home business owner, you can record ideas, meeting notes, impressions of your competition or invoices to pay.  Just push the button to activate Siri and ask her to take a note, send an email or search the Internet.

Siri

Siri is very shy and doesn’t talk about herself much.  I asked Siri where she was from – her response:Like it says on the box…I was designed by Apple in California.”  When pushed further for her phone number: “That’s all I’m prepared to say.”  I even asked Siri to marry me.  Her response?  “My End User Licensing Agreement does not cover marriage.  My apologies.” Very cute and clever.

From Apple’s website: “Here’s another amazing way to get things done: just use your voice. Instead of typing, tap the microphone icon on the keyboard. Then say what you want to say and Siri listens. Tap Done, and your words are converted to text. Use dictation to write messages, take notes, search the web, and more. Dictation also works with third-party apps, so you can update your Facebook status, tweet, or write and send Instagrams.”

I’ve tried several of these and they work as advertised.  Kudos to Apple for developing this useful software!  Apple says “*Siri is available in Beta only on iPhone 4S, iPhone 5, iPad with Retina display, iPad mini, and iPod touch (5th generation) and requires Internet access. Siri may not be available in all languages or in all areas, and features may vary by area. Cellular data charges may apply.”

By Dion D. Shaw

Dion D. Shaw is the founder and owner of Homepreneurs

Homepreneurs.  New Day.  New Opportunity.

Disclaimer

Homepreneurs does not endorse nor have any relationships with any of the services listed.  Homepreneurs receives no compensation or consideration for its suggestions.  Homepreneurs strongly urges all interested parties to conduct research and accepts no responsibility for any losses incurred.

© Homepreneurs 2010 – 2013, All Rights Reserved

Reference: Retrieved 2-17-2013. http://www.apple.com/ios/siri/?cid=wwa-us-kwg-features-00001&siclientid=6381&sessguid=2526806b-11dc-4ee0-8391-bf0b2847e8ff&userguid=2526806b-11dc-4ee0-8391-bf0b2847e8ff&permguid=2526806b-11dc-4ee0-8391-bf0b2847e8ff.

Leave a Reply

