How do I Start Working from Home?

I received a question from an older friend today who has an engineering background.  The full text of the email exchange is included, with names changed of course.  Bill is interested in working from home or starting a home business with his wife.

Q1: It’s been a time since we talked. I see that you are in the home work program now. Can you please explain program to me, I might be in the mindset to look into something like that. I keep thinking about it being legal, prosperous, no drain on current funds, Is it truly a make money or scam,

Please explain.

A1: Hi Bill, long time.  How are you?
https://homepreneurs.wordpress.com blog is completely my creation.  While I obviously can’t verify all the jobs, many work from home (e.g. telecommute) are with mid to large companies and should be legitimate.

The other portion, home business opportunities, are perfectly legitimate.  I did research to find these and provide links where possible.  Look under home business and work at home categories for listings.

If you have questions or an issue with any of these, please let me know.   Also, please let me know if you are successful in finding something.

Q2: How does one get starrted ???

A2: Are you thinking about a home business for yourself or working for someone else?

If the former, do you have any idea what you’d like to do?  Many things can be done from home these days, thanks to the Internet.  I suggest putting a list together of your skills and interests and let’s go from there.

Q3: There are advantages of working for someone and there are advantages-disadvantages working alone or partners. I would like to do something that either me or my wife, or as you indicated with you as partner as well. My wife was teaching at NIU this last term, but the course isn’t offered this coming term. She will have more time. And as for me, The living in Normal Illinois all week and coming home on the weekends is getting hard. On me, my wife, family, and my car. and my car. I am a systems engineer at xxxxxx and things are really slow now. It is normally slow all the time, which makes the job even more tressful.

Tell me what your thoughts are. I would really like to get into something that we all can make money and enjoy life as well.

A3: Bill,

I agree – sounds like you really need something work from home.
The biggest question you need to ask: What about benefits, especially health insurance?  Buying individual policies is quite expensive and assumes you are in good health too.  This is the biggest barrier to self-employment.
Assuming no health, then you’d want to look at some of the telecommuting jobs listed:
https://homepreneurs.wordpress.com/2011/11/08/work-from-home-as-a-telecommuter-part-3/
https://homepreneurs.wordpress.com/2011/11/07/work-from-home-telecommuting-options-2/
https://homepreneurs.wordpress.com/2011/11/06/work-from-home-telecommuting-options/

If you have access to health insurance and you want to do something with the Mrs., do you have any crafty talents?  Could you make a product that would sell over the Internet, at craft/art shows or both?  If I were you, with an engineering background, I would consider something in the resourced or recycled area.  The ‘green’ field is hot right now.  Unique crafts made from metal will do ok, providing the price point is good.

For a look at some metal products take a look at www.etsy.com and search for ‘metal’.  You’ll find everything from jewelry to figures to wall decor.  If your wife is creative too, she could pitch in a hand.  You’d want her assistance if you do craft shows.

Does this help?

A4: Other options for you include:  teaching at a community college or freelance technical writing.  Neither includes the Mrs, but …

This was over the course of the day and I’ve not heard back from Bill.  I will follow up with him the next few days and see what his thoughts are.

By Dion D Shaw

Dion D Shaw is the founder and owner of Homepreneurs

Homepreneurs.  New Day.  New Opportunities.

Disclaimer

Homepreneurs does not endorse nor have any relationships with any of the services listed.  Homepreneurs receives no compensation or consideration for its suggestions.  Homepreneurs strongly urges all interested parties to conduct research and accepts no responsibility for any losses incurred.

© Homepreneurs 2011

Leave a Reply

