Home Business Success Story: Moonlight Designs

Homepreneurs loves relating home business success stories!  Entrepreneurs like Alona M. prove that starting and running a business from home is a real possibility.  A look at her talents and products on http://www.etsy.com/shop/moonlightdesigns2 reflect a commitment to quality and excellence.

In her own words: I love designing jewelry from my studio in Alaska, where I am inspired every day by our beautiful mountains and wildlife that surround me to create beautiful works of art to wear and hope you will find one of my unique handmade pieces that is perfect for you!

Alona was very gracious and responded to a recent interview request about her business.  An edited version is found below:

HP:         Why did you start your own business?

AM:        I started my jewelry business for 2 reasons:  I needed to quit the corporate grind per my Doctor –  it was greatly affecting my health – too much stress.  Second I had just lost my father whom I was very close to and one day I guess everything just clicked and I knew that life really is too short and that I would not be happy doing anything else but running my own business.  I use my artistic skills – a big part of me – to create a product line of handcrafted jewelry.  I love what I do and have never looked back!

HP:         How long has the business been around?

AM:        I started my business just 3 years ago and have been working hard to build it up.

HP:         What are the greatest challenges you face?

AM:        Probably the greatest challenge is to not get burned out.  I work pretty much non-stop every day: Creating new pieces of jewelry, taking photos, listing items in my on-line shop, marketing and packaging.

HP:         What advantages does self-employment provide?

AM:        The greatest advantages to being self-employed are of course being my own boss and working from home, no more commuting!

HP:         Do you have any tips/suggestions for those considering entrepreneurship?

AM:        Do your research first before taking the leap to self-employment.  Whatever business you decide to take on, have a business plan!

HP:         Do you use social media at all (e.g. Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn)?

AM:        I use different forms of social media to market/advertise my business such as Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Yammi and others.

HP:         Where do your greatest numbers of customers come from?  Word of mouth, networking, social media, advertising…

AM:        Most of my customers come from networking, including doing shows where I get to meet the public and sell in person.

HP:         If you could change one thing when you started, what would that be?

AM:        If I knew in the beginning how time consuming running your own business is, I may have had second thoughts, however it is well worth the time.

HP:         What are the rewards of self-employment?

AM:        Being self-employed means I am in charge, I choose when to work and when to quit on any given day.  I am also able to get away more for trips out of state or even out of the country.  I simply take my laptop with me to keep in touch with my business and network.

HP:         And where can people view and buy your products?

AM:        http://www.etsy.com/shop/moonlightdesigns2

HP:         Thank you very much for your time Alona, and continued success!

Moonlight Designs is a wonderful example of how dreams come alive.  Alona identified her talents, identified a market niche, and used a low-cost hosting service – Etsy.com – to provide a distribution channel for her product.

By Dion D. Shaw

Dion D. Shaw is the founder and owner of Homepreneurs

Homepreneurs.  New Day.  New Opportunity.

Disclaimer

Homepreneurs does not endorse nor have any relationships with any of the services listed.  Homepreneurs receives no compensation or consideration for its suggestions.  Homepreneurs strongly urges all interested parties to conduct research and accepts no responsibility for any losses incurred.

© Homepreneurs 2010 – 2013, All Rights Reserved

3 Responses to Home Business Success Story: Moonlight Designs

  1. […] At Home Moms Article Directory12 Means To Work At Home For Moms – – A1 Answers ArticlesHome Business Success Story: Moonlight Designs

  2. Get Rich Quick? How about get rich faster… | Money Making Business Ideas says:

    […] Blogging More Effective And Earn More Money OnlineGlobal Domains International Affiliate >>Home Business Success Story: Moonlight Designs […]

  3. Trackback Link…

    […]Here are some of the sites we recommend for our visitors[…]…

  4. Hello, how are you? I hope you do well. I needed to say that I like Home Business Success Story: Moonlight Designs Homepreneurs's Blog.

Leave a Reply

