Example of a Freelance Writing Request

April 4, 2011

Homepreneurs has previously blogged about starting a freelance writing business.  This opportunity is a relatively low-cost, simple to implement home business idea.  In the post mentioned, many links to legitimate web sites were provided for investigation.  One website not mentioned, but always containing opportunities for hompreneur writers is bemywriter.com.  This site does not charge to register; simply fill out a profile with your interests, skills, and contact information and wait for emails to show up in your mailbox.  An example that arrived in my email on Friday is below.  This listing provides a good idea of what some clients pay for writing and may help you decide about starting a home business based on writing.

In the interests of privacy, names and other contact information of respondents to this add are changed, but the text is unedited for a better understanding of how the process works.

——————–

Project: Permenent writing positions
ID: 72

Status: Open
Budget: $3-200
Created: 4/1/2011 at 2:32 EDT
Bidding Ends: 4/15/2011 at 2:32 EDT
Project Creator: lfwriters
Rating: (No Feedback Yet)
Description: I am looking for a few permanent content providers for a new website. Providers need to write in fluent English, and be reliable. Topics include: 

Health & Nutrition
Activities
Latest News
Media
Shopping & Trends
Relationships
Home & Garden
Parenting

These articles will be directed as parents, and range between 300 – 800 words. I am willing to pay .50 per 100 words. Please be aware this is an ongoing thing, not a once or twice deal. Payments may increase if you are reliable and continue providing exceptional content. For any questions, you can reach me at …

 

Respondent 1 $12 1 day(s) 4/2/2011 at 19:12 EDT
(No Feedback Yet)
Steve, you really need to take a chill pill. Lighten up a little. You will find work soon enough, jeez,your making me tense.
Respondent 2 $10 2 day(s) 4/2/2011 at 1:48 EDT
(No Feedback Yet)
Hello, My bid is for 20, 300 word articles. Please see my profile. I currently have an online women’s magazine as on of my clients. You will always receive well reserached, well written articles in a timely manner. Thank you.
Respondent 3 $10 3 day(s) 4/1/2011 at 16:17 EDT
(No Feedback Yet)
I am extremely interested in being a provider/contributor for this new web site you are launching. However, I understand that my lack of résumé as an experienced/professional blogger/author/writer might make one consider twice before hiring me for a job. Despite my lack of experience, or my non-existent following/fans, I am ultimately confident in my ability to write an article/blog about any one of the numerous subjects you listed (health, nutrition, media, trends & shopping, relationships). My only question to you would be: what kind of website do you host? Are these pieces to be mostly fact based, with cold cut-n-dry facts, or are you looking for something more humorous and light hearted? Ok sorry; I guess I do have more than one question. The point being I am a multi-faceted writer, and I can write a piece any way that you want me to. I am just starting out, and would like to build up a résumé for myself so that when I apply for other jobs/bids, or start publishing my own works, I have some history and references to show others. As far as my references go, I am a twenty six year old not-so-recently unemployed college graduate. Upon graduating from UC Davis with a degree in Economics in ’08, I was laid off by my employer in ’09, and have been barely scraping by since. When you’re stuck at home, wondering what’s going to happen, and how all the uncertainty is going to pan out, sometimes it can focus you and help you figure out what you really should be doing. I should be writing. I know I have a natural gift but for some reason I have been unable or unwilling to let it shine through. So, I would ask not just for a chance to write for a blog, but the opportunity to start my new career off on the right foot. Thank you so much for your consideration, and I wish you the best of luck with your new web site.
Respondent 4 $12 7 day(s) 4/1/2011 at 19:15 EDT
(No Feedback Yet)
I have been writing professionally for a number of years now and currently write, blog and do SEO-related web content writing for several clients. I would charge you 12.00 for 4 hundred words. I am anxious to do more than just a couple of pieces so your ad does appeal to me. I am also available every day. See some of my work at ….com. Thank you!

The above is a typical example of a request for writers, a general description of the work, other conditions of contract, and a pay rate.  Respondents reply with a brief summary of their qualifications and enter a bid.  The requester may contact each individual and ask for a sample written paragraph or two, based on a random topic (my experience).  Either the requester replies with suggestions or issues with the sample, accepts the bid or the bid is rejected and you may never know the reason, much like a job application.

This is a real example of what to expect if interested in applying for writing positions.  One won’t make a fortune from any individual job or project, but will gain valuable experience in the bidding process while fine-tuning skills and creating a portfolio for future writing positions.

By Dion D Shaw

Dion Shaw is the founder and owner of Homepreneurs.

Source of example above:  http://www.bemywriter.com/project.php?id=72

9 Responses to Example of a Freelance Writing Request

  1. ebooks for kindle says:

    Can’t wait to read more from your blog.

  2. Kenton says:

    Very interesting information!Perfect what exactly I acquired searching for!

  3. Elbert says:

    I gotta favorite this website this indicates very useful very helpful

  4. We are wanting to find circumstances to enhance my website!

    I’m assuming its ok to utilise a few of your notions!!

  5. Attic ideas says:

    I don’t normally comment however gotta state enjoy it towards the post on that great one : D.

  6. I discovered myself just seeking this info for a long
    time. After 6 hours of continuous Googleing, at last I received it with your site.
    I ponder what’s having less Google strategy that don’t rank this sort of informative sites in the top of
    list. Usually the most notable websites are packed with garbage.

Leave a Reply

